top of page

Insights in Wilderness


It is a peculiar feeling to be sitting on a couch, squeezing ink from my pen as I scribble onto my paper, while fancying the beauty of a landscape. It just seemed like I have a whole new world situated in front of me. I wondered why all of a sudden our very own yard appears bizarre. It could’ve been the price of spending sometime away from home and falling in love with the grace of a place-anew. Somehow, somewhere, it just felt like.. Home.


Months and miles away from the gates of Lakewood-ZDS, the ground where I stood at had shaken. It might have been a similar feeling for you too--to ask yourself why are you here? What are you doing? I could only recall I wanted to become a doctor and so I enrolled myself into a medical school with hopes of familiarizing Guyton’s works, challenging Harrison’s ideas, probing Schwartz’ dexterity and many more. What happens next is far from how I imagined it- a semester-long problem-based modular sessions, OSCE, and several group dynamics.


On the brighter side, I was faced with lesser nerve-racking examinations, fewer intimidating professors and a supportive, less competitive environment. But seriously, why would a medical school deploy their student to places afar with utmost confidence in the little things they know and fewer things they are able to do? I sat back and relax myself as the tension of peculiarity loosen up. A breath of fresh air brought a nostalgic feeling of our days spent in that newly found home.


The beauty of such unforgettable experience was brought forth by the unfathomable support of the ADZU-SOM Faculty who exhausted themselves just to accompany us all the way to our areas of assignment. They persevered the bumps of the road, the pesky rattle of students, the stress and demands of a road travel just to make sure our journey will be smooth, safe and sound. I was reminded of those doctors who willingly carried all our luggage- such a picturesque of humility and compassion. With such sight, I wondered why some people let arrogance and pride stained them when someone even great out there has managed the virtue and grace of humility and modesty. I remember someone dear to me reminded me not to brag about one’s accomplishments just to prove how great you are because eventually, one’s greatness will show up in time, in God’s perfect way.


Truly, humility and modesty has its own way of telling stories of success in an elegant fashion. It makes you different from those who boast. It is indeed gratifying and even more overwhelming.

As I was faced with several duties and obligations, I was able to grasp the weight of taking responsibilities. Subjecting oneself to a task and finding ways to accomplish it makes one reliant- independent and verily capable. As it maximizes creativity, I get to explore and innovate randomness into brilliant possibilities. I had the glimpse of learning, discovering new things alongside great people who carry the same philosophy too. Hand-in-hand, as I wake up to each day with such people beside me, I get to do more and learn more. Each day proves to be a chance of reinventing oneself- a changed person whose heart desires a meaningful purpose.


My 25-day in the barangay of Biswangan had me vanished walls and gaps I built for people long time ago. I learn to be more appreciative and socially active. With the people’s faith in our capabilities and their support, I have become more indulgent and passionate about my dream. By being one with the community people, a lot of great things could happen. With empathy and communication, we get to understand and appreciate individuality and abate differences. At such abrupt time, we had savored the bitter taste of a few anomaly. Somehow, it has shaken the tranquility within ourselves. But still, with utmost respect, we decided to remain in silence. Also, we were challenged by situations that asked the very purpose of our stay. Unfortunate though, we’ve got little things known and fewer things done. It was sad- somehow restricted. We felt limited. Yet, somehow seeing people smiling, even grateful despite our limitations give us the power to strive more. We are motivated to do something of utmost significance.


True enough, learning does not just happen along the four corners of a room. It goes beyond that. As I write some of the great things that had happened, I stopped to wonder the answers to my questions above. Somehow, I have a great feeling God has never wronged me. It is His perfect choice to get me into ADZU-SOM whose visions are beautifully crafted out of love and selflessness.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page